Skip to content

Diane von Furstenberg · Woman Before Fashion

Diane von Furstenberg

Exhibition

Tue > Sun
10h > 17h

Duration:

Place: Fashion & Lace Museum

Woman Before Fashion is not a retrospective. It is a free approach to the Diane von Furstenberg’s work. The exhibition presents the creations of the famous Belgo-American fashion designer and the person behind them. Comprising a selection of over 50 models and a wide-ranging iconography, the experience begins with fashion and ends with the woman. Through an interplay of visions and a juxtaposition of creations, this ground-breaking exhibition provides the keys to understanding the incredible career of a female designer who understands women.

‘Colours are the letters, prints are the words, and the fabric and the silhouettes form the sentence’

Along with personal photographs, visitors will perceive the diversity and timelessness of her prints. The designer has a specific language of colours and prints, one that she also applies to her must-have wrap dress. Visitors will discover Diane von Furstenberg’s many sources of inspiration, such as :
– freedom, which motivates her in her work but also in her daily life
– the role played by art in her creations with the work of friends like Andy Warhol, Konstantin Kakanias and François-Marie Banier or more broadly abstract painting, art and architecture.

The exhibition also looks at Diane von Furstenberg’s phenomenal and unique career. As soon as she arrived in New York, she noticed the variety of the outfits worn by women there. These “crazy looks” fuelled her desire to introduce “the little dress” in America. The wrap dress quickly became a worldwide lifestyle.

The exhibition sheds light on:
– her strategy of personifying the garment in department stores in line with mindsets of the 1970s
– the development and diversification of her lines
– her approach to women and to clients. Diane von Furstenberg meets and listens to women wearing her creations all over the United States. This enables her to develop a true and lasting link. From Amy Winehouse to Michelle Obama, women everywhere love her wrap dress
– Finally, the exhibition looks at her philanthropy, allowing visitors to better understand her work and her commitment to women.

The wrap dress

The printed jersey wrap dress is an emblematic garment of undisputed international renown.

Its celebrity has made the wrap dress an archetypal form of fashion, in the same way as age-old garments, kimonos or uniforms. Indeed, they all share a number of characteristics. This dress has lasted for 50 uninterrupted years, all the while taking account of the trends that have marked the various decades.

Conceived by a woman, the wrap dress is part of a worldwide history of fashion designed by women. Unlike their male counterparts, they favour simple, relaxed styles, designed to suit their body language and their daily lives.

The exhibition revisits the Italian origins of the wrap dress and the story behind its structure: the combination of a top and a skirt.

Scroll To Top

Aller au contenu

Diane von Furstenberg · Woman Before Fashion

Diane von Furstenberg

Exposition

Mar > Dim
10h > 17h

Durée :

Lieu : Musée Mode & Dentelle

003_FAMEFES_insta_infos_BG2_OK1
Woman Before Fashion n’est pas une rétrospective. C’est une manière d’aborder de façon libre le travail de Diane von Furstenberg. L’exposition présente l’œuvre et la personne de la célèbre créatrice de mode belgo-américaine.

À travers une sélection de plus de 50 modèles et une vaste iconographie, le parcours prend pour point de départ la mode pour se terminer sur l’artiste. Entre jeux de regards et confrontation de créations, cette exposition inédite donne les clés pour comprendre l’incroyable carrière de Diane von Furstenberg.

«Les couleurs sont des lettres, les imprimés sont des mots, et le tissu et les silhouettes forment la phrase»

Aux côtés de photographies personnelles, le visiteur appréhende la diversité et l’intemporalité des imprimés. Un langage spécifique de couleurs et d’imprimés que la créatrice applique à son incontournable robe portefeuille. Le visiteur s’imprègne également des multiples inspirations de Diane von Furstenberg dont :
– la liberté qui l’inspire dans son travail mais également dans sa vie quotidienne.
– le rôle joué par l’art dans ses créations avec des œuvres d’amis tels qu’Andy Warhol, Konstantin Kakanias et François-Marie Banier ou plus largement la peinture abstraite, l’art et l’architecture.

 

L’exposition revient également sur la carrière phénoménale et singulière de Diane von Furstenberg. Dès son arrivée à New York, elle remarque la diversité des tenues portées par les femmes. Ces « crazy looks » alimentent son désir d’introduire en Amérique « la petite robe ». La wrap dress devient rapidement un style de vie mondial

L’exposition décrypte ainsi :

– sa stratégie d’incarnation du vêtement dans les grands magasins en phase avec les mentalités des années 1970
– le développement et la diversification de ses lignes
– son approche des femmes et des clientes. Aux quatre coins des États-Unis, Diane von Furstenberg rencontre et écoute celles qui portent ses créations. Elle développe ainsi un lien véritable et durable. De Amy Winehouse à Michelle Obama, sa robe portefeuille plaît à toutes les femmes.
– Enfin, l’exposition pose un regard sur sa philanthropie permettant de mieux comprendre son travail et son engagement envers les femmes.

La wrap dress

Pièce emblématique, la robe portefeuille en jersey imprimé bénéficie d’une renommée internationale incontestée.

De par sa célébrité, la robe portefeuille devient une forme archétypale de la mode. Au même titre que le vêtement antique, le kimono ou l’uniforme. Elle partage d’ailleurs des caractéristiques avec ces derniers. Cette robe perdure durant 50 années consécutives tout en tenant compte des évolutions liées aux différentes décennies.

Pensée par une femme, la wrap dress s’inscrit dans une histoire mondiale de la mode conçue par des créatrices. À l’inverse de leurs homologues masculins, elles privilégient des formes simples, assouplies, pensées en fonction de leur langage corporel et de leur vie au quotidien.

L’exposition revient sur les origines italiennes de la robe portefeuille et sur l’histoire derrière sa construction : la fusion d’un haut et d’une jupe

Faire défiler vers le haut