Skip to content

Wetsi Art Gallery · What is the place of black women artists and/or intellectuals in Belgium?

Anne Wetsi Mpoma · Alesandra Seutin

Discussion PanelTalk

Dis/inheritance of systems of oppression

19.09.23 | 18h
FR

Duration: 3h

Place: Riches-Claires

Hi! Let's play a game. Okay? Name 5 very talented artists. Name 5 female or non-binary artists. Name 5 black or afro-descendant female artists who aren't singers. Name 5 black artists working or living in Belgium.
The Wetsi (art) Gallery is a Brussels-based space that aims to develop an artistic and cultural program centered around Afrodescendant artists, and thus promote an image of Africa freed from its usual clichés. Anne Wetsi Mpoma, independent curator and art historian, and co-founder of the project, has spent the last fifteen years studying artists from the African diaspora in Belgium and advocating the decolonization of physical, mental and institutional spaces through art and culture. To this end, in addition to intra muros projects, extra muros collaborations are set up to promote the work of Afrodescendant visual artists in predominantly white institutions.

After the screening of Pascale Obolo’s film, La Fabrique des contre-récits, a film produced in 2020 as part of the first subsidized exhibition showcasing the work of women artists from Belgium and France, True her (Through her). This exhibition was never made accessible to the public, as part of the exceptional measures taken during the Covid-19 health crisis. Filmmaker and project co-curator Pascale Obolo interviews some of the artists involved in the project: Luna Mahoux, Agnès Lalau, Laura Nsengiyumva, Hélène Amouzou, Mireille Asia Nyembo. Based on the question: can a museum collection be decolonized? The artists share their sources of inspiration, the way they perceive their work, and their relationships with institutions.

Choreographer Alesandra Seutin and Anne Wetsi Mpoma will then talk to the public about their careers as Afro-Belgian artists and curators. A journey full of obstacles and successes to be celebrated with joy.

This evening is aimed at anyone curious and keen to (re)discover the work of black women artists living and/or working in Belgium.
Possibility to ask questions in NL and EN.
Schedule :
18h – doors open
6:30pm – screening of the film La Fabrique des Contre-Récits by Pascale Obolo
7:15pm – break
7:30pm – Art talk: What place for black women artists and/or intellectuals in Belgium? with Alesandra Seutin and Anne Wetsi Mpoma
9:00 pm – End of talks
Wetsi Art Gallery
Wetsi Art Gallery is a project of the association Nouveau Système Artistique. It is a space for artistic encounters around post-colonialism. Faced with the need to deconstruct the racist myths instilled in society over several centuries through the arts and sciences, it is about using what Maura Reilly calls curatorial activism to deconstruct these false myths and engender positive change. By valuing the culture and arts of Africans and its diasporas, our aim is to build bridges between worlds that are still compartmentalised, between artists from diverse minorities and institutions that are willing to meet them. Rue de la Petite Île 1A, 1070 Anderlecht
Scroll To Top

Aller au contenu

Wetsi Art Gallery · Quelle place pour la femme artiste et/ou intellectuelle noire en Belgique ?

Anne Wetsi Mpoma · Alesandra Seutin

ConférenceDiscussion

19.09.23 | 18h
FR

Durée : 3h

Lieu : Riches-Claires

2023-conference-wetsiartgalerie-01-CAnnaWetsi-R
Salut ! Je te propose de jouer à un jeu. Okay ? Cite-moi 5 noms d’artistes de grand talent. Cite-moi 5 noms d’artistes femmes ou non binaires. Cite-moi 5 noms d’artistes femmes noires ou afrodescendantes qui ne sont pas des chanteuses. Cite-moi 5 noms d’artistes noir·xes travaillant ou habitant en Belgique.

La Wetsi (art) Gallery est un espace bruxellois qui a pour objectif de déployer une programmation artistique et culturelle centrée autour d’artistes afrodescendant·xes, et d’ainsi promouvoir une image de l’Afrique libérée de ses clichés habituels. Anne Wetsi Mpoma, curatrice indépendante et historienne de l’art et co-fondatrice du projet, a passé les quinze dernières années à étudier les artistes de la diaspora africaine en Belgique et à plaider pour une décolonisation des espaces physiques, mentaux et institutionnels par l’art et la culture. À cette fin, en plus des projets intra muros, des collaborations extra muros sont mises en place afin de promouvoir les travaux d’artistes visuels afrodescendants dans les institutions majoritairement blanches.

Après la projection du film de Pascale Obolo, La Fabrique des contre-récits, un film produit en 2020 dans le cadre de la première exposition subventionnée mettant uniquement en valeur les travaux d’artistes femmes de Belgique et de France, True her (Through her). Cette exposition ne sera finalement jamais rendue accessible au public, dans le cadre des mesures exceptionnelles prises lors de la crise sanitaire liée au Covid-19. La cinéaste et co-curatrice du projet Pascale Obolo interviewe certaines artistes qui participent au projet : Luna Mahoux, Agnès Lalau, Laura Nsengiyumva, Hélène Amouzou, Mireille Asia Nyembo. À partir de l’interrogation : peut-on décoloniser une collection muséale ? Les artistes nous livrent leurs sources d’inspiration, la manière dont elles perçoivent leur travail, les rapports avec les institutions.

Ensuite, l’artiste chorégraphe Alesandra Seutin et Anne Wetsi Mpoma s’entretiendront face au public pour témoigner de leur parcours d’artiste et curatrice afro-belges. Un parcours semé d’embûches et de réussites à célébrer dans la joie.

Cette soirée s’adresse à toutes les personnes curieuses et désireuses de (re)découvrir le travail d’artistes femmes noires vivant et/ou travaillant en Belgique.
Possibilité de poser des questions en NL et EN.

Déroulé :
18h ouverture des portes
18h30 projection du film La Fabrique des Contre-Récits de Pascale Obolo
19h15 pause
19h30 Art talk : Quelle place pour la femme artiste et/ou intellectuelle noire en Belgique ? avec Alesandra Seutin et Anne Wetsi Mpoma
21h00 Fin des échanges

Wetsi Art Gallery
Wetsi Art Gallery est un projet de l'association Nouveau Système Artistique. C'est un espace de rencontres artistiques autour de projets post-coloniaux. Face à la nécessité de déconstruire les mythes racistes distillés dans la société depuis plusieurs siècles à travers les arts et les sciences, il s'agit d'utiliser ce que Maura Reilly appelle l'activisme curatorial pour déconstruire ces faux mythes et avoir un impact positif. En valorisant la culture et les arts des Africains et de leurs diasporas, notre objectif est de construire des ponts entre des mondes encore cloisonnés, entre des artistes issus de minorités diverses et des institutions désireuses de les rencontrer. Rue de la Petite Île 1A, 1070 Anderlecht
Faire défiler vers le haut