Skip to content

extra

Mehdi-Georges Lahlou · Candice Breitz

Exhibition

Up to 24.09.2023
10h30 > 18h

Duration:

Place: CENTRALE

In partnership with CENTRALE, this exhibition, envisaged as a space of celebration and encounters, dig into a significant subject : the representation of violence and its consequences on current geopolitical issues.

Mehdi-Georges Lahlou presents a whole new body of works including sculptures, drawings, engravings, reworked archive photos, as well as installations and videos. At CENTRALE, the artist continues to explore the representation of violence and its consequences on current geopolitical issues. He draws on war archives and ancestral history, as well as on his own experiences, both intimate and fictional. Between the representation of the self and the questioning of the other, Mehdi-Georges Lahlou seeks to understand the role of archives in our collective memory.

“As an artist, I have the privilege of being able to speak out. I want to take advantage of this, to open up the senses and consciences. “ – Mehdi-Georges Lahlou, interviewed by Annick Colonna-Césari, journalist and critic

Mehdi-Georges Lahlou has invited the Berlin-based artist Candice Breitz (1972, Johannesburg) as a guest artist. Born and raised in South Africa during the era of apartheid, Breitz has consistently sought to grapple with whiteness in her work, from early photographic series such as ‘Ghost Series’ (1994), to later installations such as ‘Extra’ (2011) and ‘Whiteface’ (2022). Breitz’s journeys into the violent terrain of whiteness often feature the artist herself and are strikingly auto-ethnographic, offering a compelling counterpoint to Mehdi-Georges Lahlou’s body of work, in which self-portraiture again and again opens onto some of the most urgent political conversations of our times.

The two artists work with (self-)portraits, as well as with images taken from the media and from popular or ancestral/traditional cultures.

They examine the way in which identity and image are shaped and echo each other, whether within the local and familial microcosm, or within the wider national and international macrocosm.

The exhibition opens up beyond the museum walls with the unveiling of a monumental artwork by Mehdi-Georges Lahlou in Molenbeek at the Vaartkapoen Cultural Centre. Entitled Into the Palms the Birds, it was commissioned by the Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie (Flemish Community Commission).

Mehdi-Georges Lahlou
Mehdi-Georges Lahlou (1983, Sables d’Olonne, France; lives and works in Brussels and Paris) is a multidisciplinary artist exploring performance art, installations, sculpture, photography, drawing. The artist’s interest lies in the way in which emotions can be triggered by the subject, rather than in the object itself. His work calls upon the five senses as it includes sound creations, spices, and even food items such as couscous. Each element refers to a culture, a cliché, a ritual tradition, thus echoing the world we live in.
Scroll To Top

Aller au contenu

extra

Mehdi-Georges Lahlou · Candice Breitz

Exposition

Jusqu'au 24.09.2023
10h30 > 18h

Durée :

Lieu : CENTRALE

2023-expo-extra-1-CPhilippe De Gobert-R
En collaboration avec La CENTRALE, cette exposition envisagée comme un espace de célébration et de rencontres décortique un sujet conséquent : la représentation de la violence, et de ses conséquences sur la géopolitique actuelle.

Mehdi-Georges Lahlou présente dans cette nouvelle exposition personnelle une sélection d’œuvres composée de sculptures, dessins, gravures, photos d’archives retravaillées, ainsi que des installations et vidéos. L’artiste poursuit à la CENTRALE son exploration de la représentation de la violence, et de ses conséquences sur la géopolitique actuelle, en puisant aussi bien dans les archives de guerre et l’histoire ancestrale, que dans ses propres expériences, intimes ou fictives. Entre représentation de soi et questionnement de l’autre, Mehdi-Georges Lahlou cherche à appréhender le rôle de l’archive dans notre mémoire collective.

« En tant qu’artiste, j’ai le privilège de pouvoir prendre la parole. Je veux en profiter, pour ouvrir les sens et les consciences. » – Mehdi-Georges Lahlou interviewé par Annick Colonna-Césari, journaliste et critique

Mehdi-Georges Lahlou invite dans son exposition l’artiste Candice Breitz (1972, Johannesburg). Basée à Berlin, née et élevée en Afrique du Sud à l’époque de l’apartheid, Breitz se confronte dans son travail à la question de la blanchité, depuis ses premières séries photographiques comme Ghost Series (1994), jusqu’à ses installations ultérieures comme Extra (2011) et Whiteface (2022). Les explorations de Candice Breitz dans l’arène violente de la blanchité mettent souvent en scène l’artiste elle-même, suscitant la surprise par son aspect auto-ethnographique. Elles offrent un contrepoint saisissant au travail de Mehdi-Georges Lahlou, où l’autoportrait continue de s’ouvrir aux enjeux abordés dans les conversations politiques les plus urgentes de notre temps.

Les deux artistes jouent de l’(auto)-portrait mais aussi d’images tirées des médias ainsi que de cultures populaires ou ancestrales.
Iels mettent en regard la manière dont se façonnent une identité et son image, que ce soit au sein du microcosme familial et local, ou du macrocosme national et international.

L’exposition de Mehdi-Georges Lahlou & Candice Breitz s’étend hors les murs avec l’inauguration d’une pièce monumentale intitulée Into the Palms the Birds de Mehdi-Georges Lahlou à Molenbeek, une commande de la Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie pour le centre culturel Vaartkapoen.

TW installation sonore forte, sensation claustrophobique (pour une installation)

Mehdi-Georges Lahlou
Mehdi-Georges Lahlou (1983, Sables d’Olonne, France ; vit et travaille à Bruxelles et Paris) est artiste multidisciplinaire et pratique ainsi aussi bien la performance que l’installation, la sculpture, la photographie etc. L’intérêt de l’artiste réside plus dans la manière dont les émotions vont pouvoir être déployées par la matière, que dans l’objet en lui-même. Il convoque le regard, le toucher, l’odorat (avec des épices), l’ouïe (avec des créations sonores), et jusqu’au goût qui est évoqué avec des aliments comme la semoule. Chaque élément fait référence à une culture, un cliché, une tradition rituelle, ouvrant ainsi à penser le monde.
Faire défiler vers le haut