Skip to content

Koko Slam Gang

Joëlle Sambi · Lisette Lombe · Raïssa Yowali · The Séniors du Manguier en Fleurs

SlamTheater

18 and 19.09.23 | 20h
French, Lingala
No age restrictions

Duration: 1h

Place: Espace Magh

An intergenerational poetry slam with singing and dance performances performed by a group of energetic grandmothers and experienced slam poets.

The slammers, Joëlle Sambi, Lisette Lombé, Raïssa Yowali and the “Koko” knit intergenerational ties for the audience; koko meaning grandmother in Lingala.

On stage, the stories collide, intertwine, their memories vivid and full of life: from the way grains of sand tumbled, the rhythm of a brass band in Matadi on one special Thursday, June 30th 1960, to stubborn and persistent silence despite the noise of the TV in the solitude of a Brussels apartment… The need for an exchange of words which barely cover the noise of roots that are lost and ties that are quickly vanishing…

Alongside the creation of the show KOKO SLAM GANG, there is the elegance of dance, songs and regalia that is celebrated. It is poetry that invites and imposes itself on the collective concert that is “living together”. These words are words to be listened to, the very words that catch us off guard with their strike. It’s about building a bridge between two banks so that we may meet enthusiastically in the middle. No crossing can be done without dance and music, just as no crossing can be done without the words of those who stand on the sides of the riverbank, hearing the other in all their truth, harshness and joy.

What do these older women know that the younger ones have forgotten? What strengths do they have to pass on? What are the secrets they have kept with them for a lifetime? What have we done with our elders?

Cast
TEXT & PERFORMANCE the Manguier en Fleurs seniors, Lisette Lombe in alternation with Raïssa Yowali and Joëlle Sambi SCENOGRAPHY Joëlle Sambi EXTERIOR EYE Rosa GasquetT SOUND Nicolas Pommier VIDEO COLLABORATION Camille Langlois SCENOGRAPHIC ASSISTANCE Margot Briand and Maya Lombard PRODUCTION Sasha Lampole and Meryl Moens
Credits
A PROJECT BY Joëlle Sambi COLLABORATION Manguier en Fleurs PRODUCTION Solola Bien et MoDul COPRODUCTION Lézarts Urbains, Midis De La Poésie, KVS, KANAL- Centre Pompidou, Trill SUPPORTED BY Ministère de la Culture de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles/ Un futur pour la culture et de la Maison Poème · Les Midis de la poésie – FrancoFaune
Joëlle Sambi
Born as a mediator between Kinshasa and Brussels, Joëlle Sambi says, shouts, writes short stories, novels, slams, recites, documents, shows, hosts, and presents… This non-exhaustive list of her legacy is an entanglement of struggle-desire-necessity. A nomad who holds up, turns around, and removes contents from the boxes of normative identity, abrading the surface of text, oiling the image, and lathering the stage. From post-colonial soil to lands where roots exist, Joëlle hybridises language, penetrating the world with the fervour and rigour of her work… viscera and reaction, her voice as a migrant, lesbian, afrofeminist, as someone permanently exiled, writes not to make a living from these identities, but to play with them to the point that they may reflect her, her anger, her creations.
Lisette Lombé
A multi-faceted, revolutionary, Lisette Lombé brings her poetic, scenic, visual, activism, and educational practices to life. Her writing and her struggles are based on her own mixed experiences as a woman, mother, and teacher. The result is a series of collages, performances, books, and workshops that convey both lust and rage. Co-founder of the collective L-Slam, she was made an Honorary Citizen of Liège in 2017 for her work as an activist and ambassador for slam throughout the francophone world. In 2020, she won a Golden Afro Artistic Award for her novel Vénus Poética (Published by L’Arbre à Paroles) and the Prix Grenades/RTBF, for her collection Brûler brûler brûler (Burn, burn, burn) (published by L’Iconoclaste). She will be Belgium’s next National Poetess in 2024 and 2025.
Raïssa Yowali
Raïssa Yowali was born in Brussels in a Congolese family. After a spell in the non-profit sector, she decided to devote herself to writing. For her, poetry is a medium for continuous, sensory research, a platform for all, people, struggles, locations… a great way to recycle anguish and anger and transform them. She is a cultural journalist and programmer for the Pinkscreens festival.
Scroll To Top

Aller au contenu

Koko Slam Gang

Joëlle Sambi · Lisette Lombe · Raïssa Yowali · Les Séniors du Manguier en Fleurs

SlamThéâtre

Dés/hériter les systèmes de domination

18 et 19.09.23 | 20h
Français, Lingala
Tout public

Durée: 1h

Lieu: Espace Magh

Un spectacle de slam intergénérationnel, émaillé de chant et de danse. Interprété par un groupe de grands-mères énergiques et de poétesses slam chevronnées.

Les slameuses Joëlle Sambi, Lisette Lombé, Raïssa Yowali et les « Koko » tissent des liens entre deux générations pour un spectacle-témoin. Koko, grand-mères comme on dit au Congo.
Sur scène, les récits s’entrechoquent, se rejoignent et les souvenirs sont vivaces : des grains de sable virevoltants au rythme d’une fanfare à Matadi un certain jeudi 30 Juin 1960, au silence tenace malgré le bruit de la télé dans la solitude d’un appartement bruxellois. Et entre les deux, la nécessité de ces paroles qui ne couvrent que trop rarement le bruit des racines qui se perdent et des liens qui s’étiolent.
Avec la création du spectacle KOKO SLAM GANG, c’est aussi l’élégance de la danse, des chants et du vêtement qui se fête. C’est la poésie qui s’invite et s’impose dans le concert du « vivre ensemble ». Ce sont des mots à écouter, ceux-là même qui martèlent. C’est jeter un pont entre deux berges pour que chacun.e l’emprunte, enthousiaste, à la rencontre de l’autre. Aucune traversée ne se fera sans la danse et la musique, aucune traversée ne se fera sans la parole de celles qui se tiennent d’un côté de la rive et s’entendent dans toute sa vérité, sa dureté et ses joies.
Que savent ces anciennes que les plus jeunes ont oubliées ? Quelles forces ont-elles à transmettre ? Quels sont leurs secrets, ceux qu’on garde toute une vie ? Qu’avons-nous fait de nos vieux et de nos vieilles ?

Distribution
TEXTE ET PERFORMANCE Les Seniors du Manguier en Fleurs, Lisette Lombe en alternance avec Raïssa Yowali et Joëlle Sambi MISE EN SCÈNE Joëlle Sambi OEIL EXTERIEUR Rosa GasquetT CREATION SONORE Nicolas Pommier COLLABORATION VIDEO Camille Langlois ASSISTANATS A LA MISE EN SCENE Margot Briand et Maya Lombard PRODUCTION Sasha Lampole et Meryl Moens
Crédits
UN PROJET DE Joëlle Sambi COLLABORATION Manguier en Fleurs PRODUCTION Solola Bien et MoDul COPRODUCTION Lézarts Urbains, Midis De La Poésie, KVS, KANAL- Centre Pompidou, Trill AVEC LE SOUTIEN Ministère de la Culture de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles/ Un futur pour la culture et de la Maison Poème · Les Midis de la poésie – FrancoFaune
Joëlle Sambi
Née le cul sur une frontière linguistique entre Bruxelles et Kinshasa, Joëlle Sambi dit, crie, écrit des nouvelles, romans, slams, poèmes, documentaires, spectacles, espaces radiophoniques, lieux militants. Cette liste non exhaustive des traces qu’elle arpente est un lacis de luttes-désirs-nécessités. Meuffe-nomade qui soulève, relève, enlève des strates aux cases de l’identité normative en ponçant du texte, huilant de l’image, savonnant la scène. De terreau post-colonial en terres d’origines, Joëlle mélange les langues, pénètre le monde dans la ferveur et la rigueur de travail. Viscères et réactions. Sa voix de migrante, lesbienne, afroféministe, exilée permanente, écrit non pas pour en vivre mais pour en abuser, jusqu’à s’entendre vivre. Colères, Fusion(s) et Créations.
Lisette Lombé
Artiste plurielle, passe-frontières, Lisette Lombé s’anime à travers des pratiques poétiques, scéniques, plastiques, militantes et pédagogiques. Ses espaces d’écriture et de luttes s’appuient sur sa propre chair métissée, son parcours de femme, de mère, d’enseignante. En dérivent des collages, des performances, des livres et des ateliers, passeurs de rage et d’éros. Co-fondatrice du Collectif L-SLAM, elle a été récompensée, en 2017, en tant que Citoyenne d'Honneur de la Ville de Liège, pour sa démarche d'artiviste et d’ambassadrice du slam aux quatre coins de la Francophonie. En 2020, elle a reçu un Golden Afro Artistic Awards pour son roman Vénus Poética (éd. L'Arbre à Paroles) et le Prix Grenades/RTBF pour son recueil Brûler brûler brûler (éd. l'Iconoclaste). Elle sera la prochaine Poétesse nationale de Belgique en 2024 et 2025
Raïssa Yowali
Raïssa Yowali est née à Bruxelles, dans une famille congolaise. Après un passage dans le monde du travail associatif, elle a décidé de se consacrer à l'écriture. Pour elle, la poésie est un espace de recherche continu et sensoriel, une tribune pour tous·tes : personnes et luttes de partout, une belle façon de recycler angoisses et colères. Mais pas que. Sur le côté, elle est aussi journaliste culture et programmatrice pour le festival Pinkscreens.
Faire défiler vers le haut