Skip to content

Edito 2022

From the 19th to the 24th September 2022, FAME will host its very first event!

This occasion wouldn’t be complete without a theme. The first theme will be Ouverture(s) or “Opening(s)”. In French, ouverture(s) also translates as openness. In the plural form, it references the opening of our programme in space and time, but also the notion of opening up the mind to the plurality of bodies, ages, subjectivities, narratives and imaginations

The programme features both international and Belgian artists, French and Dutch-speaking companies, and consists in performances of emergent and established artists.

The concept of « openness » also represents the desire not to have distill the different perspectives on what is “real” to a single worldview, nor to limit others to one single subjectivity, or fixed and definitive identity. Opening is the multiplying of points of view, positions and opinions

To open means not to force women and gender minorities to speak of their lives, experiences and identities, but to challenge oneself to understand the world through their eyes and their creations.

For this reason, FAME has created 5 different pathways along which one can meander and explore the festival. These pathways do not have boundaries, nor strict entry or exit points. They are flexible, interconnected and reflect the paths you can walk to arrive at the shows, workshops, conferences... These are:

1 | Arts and Female Heritage
2 | Arts and Bodies
3 | Arts and Systems of exploitation (gender, society, colonialism)
4 | Arts and Non-human beings
5 | Arts and Queerness

Through the idea of the creation of dialogue between feminism and the arts (the ambition of this festival), each path is inspired by the lines of questioning that impassion and agitate contemporary feminists: material feminism, decolonization, queerness, eco-feminism, pro-sex feminism, transfeminism etc.

#where

Fame is an acronym that spells out: Festival where Arts Meet Empowerment. As such, you are probably wondering just why there is no “where” in the acronym. In fact, the "where" has been turned into a symbol of the intersections of this festival, the ebb and flow of the audience. Come and discover the #wheree project for yourself.

Charter

FAME is guided by a series of verbs that shape our relationships with artists, audiences, and each other.

Aims

1

To contribute to the visibility, dissemination, and the production of work by female artists and gender minorities

2

To contribute to the dissemination and production of knowledge on the dialogue between arts and feminism

3

To offer an aesthetically interesting and engaging space for discovery

4

To provide some emancipatory tools for women and gender minorities to use in the cultural sector

5

To create a space for knowledge transmission and learning about the contributions of feminism to the public sphere

6

To contribute to the dissemination of new imaginal worlds which are both more inclusive and more equal

Origin

Since 2015, there has been an awareness toward gender inequality and discrimination in the cultural sector (Weinstein affair, Jan Fabre trial, #meetooththeater movement, creation of the FS movement, etc.). Quantitative and qualitative studies are now underway to continue to shed light on these violences.

In summary, women, gender minorities and even more so people of colour, are present but underrepresented in the cultural sector – both economically and symbolically – see below.

Economic:
maintaining a glass ceiling of upward social mobility for women, gender minorities and people of colour

· Less present in places of power, in theater management, in tenured teaching positions in art schools
· Have shorter and more precarious careers
· Have fewer financial means to create and are not institutionally supported to the same level as cisgender men.

Symbolic
helps to serve as a model to determine social behavior and to perpetuate discrimination

· Often only have access to less complex and subordinate roles
· Gender norms and beauty standards continue to determine casting
· Women’s characters are often stereotyped, and differences can be seen in relation to the roles of women of colour versus those of white women.

The creation of FAME · Festival where Arts Meet Empowerment · is intended to support the work of these artists. It has a programme that aims to propose an alternative way of looking at the world, challenging us to reimagine things in a fairer and more inclusive way.
The creation of FAME is the initiative of Delphine Houba, the councillor for culture in the city of Brussels. She intends to contribute to equality in the cultural sector.

Here are different resources to raise awareness about the invisibility of women, gender minorities and POC in the cultural milieu:

Team

Camille Khoury

she

Artistic Direction

Laetitia Miranda-Neri

she

Direction de Production

Dorothée Dassy

she

Financial and Administrative officer

Effir Libilbéhéty

they

Press & Communication

Aliette Griz

iel

Chargé·e de dispositifs de relations et de rencontres

Anna Lits

Anna Lits

she

Relations and encounters facilities

Joëlle Reyns

she

Technical Coordination

Réianne Ismaili

she

Intern Press & Communication

Louise Calvo

she

Intern Production & Administration

Partners

We would like to warmly thank all our financial partners that facilitated the organisation of this festival. We also thank the various venues that welcomed FAME 2022, for their trust and support for this first edition.

An initiative of Delphine Houba, Alderman for Culture of the City of Brussels
With the support of Faouzia Hariche, Alderman for Public Education, Youth and Human Resources of the City of Brussels, of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation and the National Lottery
In collaboration with visit.brussels

Finally, FAME would not be able to take place without the help and the presence of the Brussels associations. Whether through partnerships or the parallel programming of #where. We thank you for your dedication and commitment.

Alice Rivières · Anotherlight asbl · Armée du salut · Aslan Borek · Babel subtitles · Barbara Métais-Chastanier · Bartolomeo de la Punzina · Benoît Lavalard · Bibliothèque des Riches-Claires · Bij Ons · Bru·X·elles · Camille Circlude · Camille Husson · Capucine Berthon · Catherine Tabard · Centre Amazone · Christine Aventin · Comité des femmes sans papiers · Cyclo · Écarlate La Compagnie · Ding Ding Dong · Elsa Poisot · Enz@ · Eric De Staercke · Esther Poch · Fleur Courtois · Gilles Jacinto · Groupe One · Gwendal Raymond · Journée du Matrimoine · Kelly Furtado · La Salve · Léa Vandooren · La Ligue des Familles · Lili Deplus · Madame Keïta · Maria Kakogianni · Marie Vaiana · Marthe Degaille · la Mercerie · Miriam Youssef · Muriel Plana · Murielle Lô · Niall Plumb · Nim Gamboa · Osmose · PAF · Pascale Barret · QREw · Radio Panik · Sébastien Schmit · Service Culture Cinématographique asbl · Sina Kienou · Sisterhood · Soledad Kalza · Stéphanie Gilard · Suzanne Cleerdin · Super Fourchette · Syndicat des Immenses · Tashweesh Festival · Tulitu · Valérie Enderlé · Vulcana · yamina el atlassi · Zabou Thelen

Scroll To Top

Aller au contenu

Édito 2022

Du 19 au 24 septembre 2022, le FAME entame sa première édition !

Pour l’occasion, sa première thématique sera justement Ouverture(s). Ouvertures au pluriel, car il s’agit d’ouvrir notre programmation dans l’espace, dans le temps, d’ouvrir vers la pluralité des corps, des âges, des subjectivités, des récits et des imaginaires.

Ainsi, la programmation rassemble des artistes internationaux·ales et belges, de compagnies francophones et néerlandophones, et est composée de spectacles d’artistes confirmé·es et émergent·es.

L’ouverture, c’est aussi une volonté de ne pas réduire le réel à un seul regard sur le monde, ou limiter les autres à un seul aspect, à une seule identité, fixe et définitive. Ouvrir consiste alors à multiplier les angles de vue, les positionnements, les opinions.

Ouvrir, c’est aussi ne pas contraindre les femmes et minorités de genre à ne parler que de leurs vécus, de leurs existences et de leurs identités, mais d’interroger le monde via leurs regards et leurs créations.

C’est pourquoi FAME déploie sa programmation selon cinq pistes, le long desquelles trottiner. Ces pistes ne sont pas des autoroutes barricadées. Au contraire, elles sont souples, s’entrecroisent et traduisent les chemins que vous pouvez emprunter pour arriver jusqu’aux spectacles, aux ateliers, aux conférences, etc.

1 | Arts et Matrimoine
2 | Arts et Corps
3 | Arts et Systèmes d’exploitations
(genrés, sociaux, coloniaux)
4 | Arts et Relation au vivant
5 | Arts et Queer

Dans l’idée de faire dialoguer les arts et les féminismes, qui est l’ambition du festival, chacune de ces pistes s’inspire des questionnements qui animent et agitent les courants féministes contemporains : les féminismes matérialistes, décoloniaux, queer, l’éco-féminisme, les féminismes pro-sexe, le transféminisme, etc.

#where

Vous vous demandez où a disparu le "where", de l'acronyme Festival where Arts Meet Empowerment ? Nous avons transformé le grand absent en un symbole de la rencontre et des croisements entre les publics pendant le festival. Venez découvrir le projet du #where.

Charte

FAME s’est donné comme guide une série de verbes, qui orientent nos relations avec les artistes, les publics, et entre les membres de l'équipe elle·ux-même.

Intentions

1

Contribuer à la visibilité, à la diffusion et à la production du travail des artistes femmes et minorités de genre

2

Contribuer à la diffusion et à la production des savoirs sur le dialogue entre arts et féminismes

3

Offrir un lieu de découverte esthétique

4

Fournir des outils d’émancipation pour les femmes et minorités de genre dans le champ de la culture

5

Créer un lieu de transmission et d’apprentissage à destination du grand public sur les apports des féminismes

6

Contribuer à diffuser des nouveaux imaginaires, plus inclusifs et plus justes

Origines

Depuis 2015, il y a une prise de conscience des inégalités de genre et des discriminations dans le secteur culturel (affaire Weinstein, procès Jan Fabre, mouvement #meetoothéâtre, création du mouvement FS, etc.). Des études quantitatives et qualitatives sont aujourd'hui en cours afin de continuer à mettre en lumière ces violences.
En résumé, les femmes, les minorités de genre, à fortiori les personnes non-blanches, sont présent·es, mais sous-représenté·es dans le champ de la Culture – et ce tant au niveau économique qu’au niveau symbolique :

À un niveau économique : plafond de verre d’ascension sociale

· sont moins présent·es dans les lieux de pouvoir : aux postes de direction de théâtres, aux postes d’enseignant·es titulaires dans les écoles d’Arts
· ont des carrières souvent moins longues et plus précaires
· disposent de moins de moyens financiers pour créer et ne sont pas soutenu·es institutionnellement au même niveau que les hommes cisgenres.

À un niveau symbolique :
sert de modèle et donc reconduit les discriminations

· ont accès à des rôles moins complexes et subalternes
· les normes de genre et de beauté continuent à déterminer les distributions
· les personnages de femmes sont fréquemment stéréotypés, avec des différences selon les rôles de femmes blanches et de femmes racisées.

La création du FAME · Festival where Arts Meet Empowerment entend ainsi soutenir le travail de ces artistes, dans une programmation qui veut proposer d’autres regards sur le monde, de nouveaux imaginaires, plus inclusifs et plus justes.
La création du FAME est une initiative de l'Échevine de la Culture de la Ville de Bruxelles, Delphine Houba, qui entend ainsi contribuer à renforcer l’égalité dans le champ de la culture.

Voici différentes ressources pour se sensibiliser à l’invisibilisation des femmes, des minorités de genre et des personnes racisé·es dans le milieu culturel :

Équipe

Camille Khoury

elle

Direction Artistique

Laetitia Miranda-Neri

elle

Direction de Production

Dorothée Dassy

elle

Gestion Administrative & Financière

Effir Libilbéhéty

iel

Presse & Communication

Aliette Griz

iel

Chargé·e de dispositifs de relations et de rencontres

Anna Lits

elle

Chargée de dispositifs de relations et de rencontres

Joëlle Reyns

elle

Coordination Technique

Réianne Ismaili

elle

Stagiaire Presse & Communication

Louise Calvo

elle

Stagiaire Production & Administration

Partenaires

Nous remercions chaleureusement l’ensemble des partenaires financiers qui nous permettent de réaliser le festival tel qu’il est. Nous remercions également les différents lieux qui accueillent l’édition du FAME 2022, pour leur confiance et leur soutien à cette première édition.

Une initiative de Delphine Houba, Echevine de la Culture de la Ville de Bruxelles.
Avec le soutien de Faouzia Hariche, Echevine de l’Instruction publique, de la Jeunesse et des Ressources humaines de la Ville de Bruxelles, de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et de la Loterie Nationale.
En collaboration avec visit.brussels

Enfin, le FAME n’aurait pas lieu sans l’aide et la présence des associations bruxelloises, que cela soit à travers des partenariats ou la programmation parallèle du #where. Nous les remercions pour leur dévouement et leur engagement.

Alice Rivières · Anotherlight asbl · Armée du salut · Aslan Borek · Babel subtitles · Barbara Métais-Chastanier · Bartolomeo de la Punzina · Benoît Lavalard · Bibliothèque des Riches-Claires · Bij Ons · Bru·X·elles · Camille Circlude · Camille Husson · Capucine Berthon · Catherine Tabard · Centre Amazone · Christine Aventin · Comité des femmes sans papiers · Cyclo · Écarlate La Compagnie · Ding Ding Dong · Elsa Poisot · Enz@ · Eric De Staercke · Esther Poch · Fleur Courtois · Gilles Jacinto · Groupe One · Gwendal Raymond · Journée du Matrimoine · Kelly Furtado · La Salve · Léa Vandooren · La Ligue des Familles · Lili Deplus · Madame Keïta · Maria Kakogianni · Marie Vaiana · Marthe Degaille · la Mercerie · Miriam Youssef · Muriel Plana · Murielle Lô · Niall Plumb · Nim Gamboa · Osmose · PAF · Pascale Barret · QREw · Radio Panik · Sébastien Schmit · Service Culture Cinématographique asbl · Sina Kienou · Sisterhood · Soledad Kalza · Stéphanie Gilard · Suzanne Cleerdin · Super Fourchette · Syndicat des Immenses · Tashweesh Festival · Tulitu · Valérie Enderlé · Vulcana · yamina el atlassi · Zabou Thelen

Faire défiler vers le haut