Skip to content

The Game: The Game

Angela Washko

Video game

The whole week
EN
16+

Duration: Variable

Place: Riches-Claires

The Game: The Game is a feminist video game about consent and the male seduction community. In this research-based game, professional pick-up artists use their real techniques on the player.

The Game: The Game is a feminist video game exploring consent and the practices of the male seduction community. In this unconventional dating simulator, infamous pick-up artists attempt to seduce the player using techniques taken from their instructional materials. Pitting players up against six prominent seduction coaches who are vying for your attention at a bar, the game provides the opportunity for players to explore the complexity of seduction social dynamics as well as the experience of being a femme-presenting individual navigating this complicated and often dangerous terrain. It is accompanied by a haunting musical score composed by Xiu Xiu.

This video game can be downloaded and run on Mac, Windows and Linux operating systems.

Instructions:
– Left mouse-click to advance and make selections
– Right mouse-click to go to menu
– Select “Main Menu” in menu screen to restart game

 

TW : The Game: The Game is a feminist dating simulator video game about professional pick-up artists. You may encounter offensive language and descriptions of sexual situations and sexual violence while playing or watching this game-based artwork. Parental supervision is advised.

Credits
The Game: The Game was supported in part by the College of Fine Arts Faculty Fund for Research and Creativity at Carnegie Mellon University, the Frank-Ratchye Fund for Art at the Frontier Grant, and the Eyebeam Center for the Future of Journalism.
Angela Washko
Angela Washko is an artist, filmmaker, and experimental game developer who creates new forums for discussions about feminism in spaces frequently hostile towards it. Her practice spans interventions in virtual environments, performance art, media installation, documentary film, and video games. A recipient of the United States Artists Fellowship, Creative Capital Award, Franklin Furnace Performance Fund, and the Impact Award at Indiecade, Washko's practice has been highlighted in The New Yorker, Frieze Magazine, Time Magazine, The Guardian, ArtForum, The Los Angeles Times, Art in America, The New York Times and more. Her projects have been presented internationally at venues including Museum of the Moving Image, Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art, the Milan Design Triennale, Centre Pompidou-Metz, and the Shenzhen Animation Biennial.
Scroll To Top

Aller au contenu

The Game: The Game

Angela Washko

Jeu vidéo

histoires des luttes

Toute la semaine
EN
16+

Durée: Variable

Lieu: Riches-Claires

The Game: The Game est un jeu vidéo féministe à propos du consentement et de la communauté de séduction masculine. Ce jeu, basé sur une recherche scientifique, met en scène des artistes professionnels de la drague avec leurs véritables techniques.

The Game: The Game est un jeu vidéo féministe qui explore le consentement et les pratiques de la communauté de séduction masculine. Dans ce simulateur de rencontre non conventionnel, d’infâmes (et tristement célèbres) artistes de la drague tentent de séduire la·e joueur·euse en utilisant des techniques tirées de leur matériel pédagogique. En opposant les joueur·euses à six éminents coachs en séduction qui se disputent votre attention dans un bar, le jeu permet d’explorer la complexité des dynamiques sociales de la séduction ainsi que l’expérience d’être une personne perçue comme femme qui navigue sur ce terrain compliqué et souvent dangereux.
Le jeu est accompagné d’une musique envoûtante composée par Xiu Xiu.

Instructions :
– Cliquer avec le bouton gauche de la souris pour avancer et faire des sélections
– Cliquer sur le bouton droit de la souris pour accéder au menu
– Sélectionner « Menu principal » dans l’écran de menu pour redémarrer le jeu.

 

TW : The Game: The Game est un jeu vidéo féministe de simulation de dating (rencontres) autour des pick-up artists (dragueurs) professionnels. Il est probable que vous soyez confronté·es à des propos choquants, indécents ou désagréables. Voir, à des descriptions explicites et des actes de violences sexuelles. Que ce soit en jouant ou en regardant quelqu’un·e jouer. Une supervision parentale est recommandée.

Crédits
The Game: The Game a été soutenu en partie par le College of Fine Arts Faculty Fund for Research and Creativity de l'Université Carnegie Mellon, le Frank-Ratchye Fund for Art at the Frontier Grant et le Eyebeam Center for the Future of Journalism.
Angela Washko
Angela Washko est une artiste, réalisatrice et développeuse de jeux expérimentaux. Elle créé des espaces de discussion sur le féminisme dans des espaces souvent hostiles. Sa pratique englobe des interventions dans des environnements virtuels, des performances, des installations médiatiques, des films documentaires et des jeux vidéo. Lauréate de l'United States Artists Fellowship, du Creative Capital Award, du Franklin Furnace Performance Fund et de l'Impact Award à Indiecade, Washko a vu sa pratique mise en lumière dans The New Yorker, Frieze Magazine, Time Magazine, The Guardian, ArtForum, The Los Angeles Times, Art in America, The New York Times et bien d'autres encore. Ses projets ont été présentés à l'échelle internationale, notamment au Museum of the Moving Image, au Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art, à la Triennale du design de Milan, au Centre Pompidou-Metz et à la Biennale d'animation de Shenzhen.
Faire défiler vers le haut