Skip to content

Chocolat Afro-Belge (Afro-Belgian Chocolate)

Bamko

Walk

21 and 22.09.23 | 14h
FR

Duration: 2h

Place: Public space

Decolonial and feminist walk (+ chocolate tasting) around Belgian chocolate and its link to the Western domination of Africa (Slavery, colonisation, and neo-colonialism).

Bamko asbl

has organised a feminist, decolonial tour which aims at offering a partial history of Belgian chocolate and a link between this and the colonisation/domination of Africa by the west (i.e. slavey, colonisation and neo-colonialism).

What is the real story of Belgian chocolate and how Belgian is it really?

How does the African continent contribute to Belgium’s influence and under what conditions?

 

The tour will take place in Grand Place and throughout Sainte-Catherine. These are two of the places where some say you can buy the best Belgian chocolate.

The tour will be guided by Mireille-Tsheusi Robert

Mireille-Tsheusi ROBERT
Mireille-Tsheusi Robert is the president of the Bamko association, a feminist and anti-racist committee. A trainer on colonial, racial, and feminist issues, she is the author and co-author of several books.
Bamko
An anti-racist watchdog association which is active in politics and media advocacy. They train social workers, stimulate public debate, and defend the rights of victims of racism. Bamko is a women’s and Afrodescendent committee that works on popular education in Brussels and Wallonia (training programmes, exhibitions, etc.). The organisation promotes interculturality, fights against racism including Afrism (anti-black racism) and helps women and young people with training, entrepreneurship, school mediation, socio-legal, and administrative assistance. Bamko also does advocacy work, helping to write articles and books, and organising informative meetings.
Scroll To Top

Aller au contenu

Chocolat Afro-Belge

Bamko

Balade

21 et 22.09.23 | 14h
FR

Durée : 2h

Lieu : Espace public

2023-balade-bamko-01-R
Balade féministe et décoloniale autour du chocolat belge et de son lien avec les dominations occidentales de l’Afrique (esclavage, colonisation et néocolonisation).

Bamko asbl organise une visite féministe et décoloniale qui a pour but de proposer une histoire partielle et partiale du chocolat belge et de mettre cette histoire en lien avec l’Afrique et les dominations occidentales (à savoir l’esclavage, la colonisation et la néocolonisation).
La balade comprend une dégustation de chocolat.

Quelle est la véritable histoire du chocolat belge ?
D’ailleurs cette histoire est-elle si belge que ça ? Comment le continent Africain contribue-t-il au rayonnement de la Belgique et dans quelles conditions ?


La visite se déroulera dans les quartiers de la Grand-Place de Bruxelles et de la Place Sainte-Catherine, car l’on peut acheter en ces lieux ce que d’aucuns considèrent comme étant le meilleur du chocolat belge. La visite sera guidée par Mireille-Tsheusi ROBERT.

Mireille-Tsheusi ROBERT
Mireille-Tsheusi ROBERT est présidente de Bamko asbl, un comité féministe et antiraciste. Formatrice sur les questions coloniales, raciales et féministes, elle est auteure et co-auteure de plusieurs ouvrages.
Bamko
Association de veille antiraciste, active dans le plaidoyer politique et médiatique, la formation des travailleurs sociaux, l’impulsion du débat public ou encore, la défense des droits des personnes victimes de racisme. Bamko est un comité féminin et afrodescendant qui œuvre à l’éducation populaire à Bruxelles et en Wallonie (formations, expositions), qui promeut l’interculturalité, qui lutte contre le racisme dont l’Afrisme (racisme anti-« Noirs ») et qui aide femmes et jeunes que ce soit au niveau de leur accompagnement dans des projets de formation ou d’entreprenariat, de médiation scolaire, que pour des aides socio-juridiques et administratives. Bamko fait aussi un travail de plaidoyer en participant à la rédaction d’articles et de livres, en organisant des rencontres informatives.
Faire défiler vers le haut