Skip to content

Zohra’s Feestje

ZEBARBAR | De Studio

Theater

ConstructDreamFemale heritageLearnSystems of exploitation

Friday 23 Sept | 10:30am | NL
Friday 23 Sept | 1:30pm | FR
Saturday 24 Sept | 4pm | FR

Duration: 45min

Place: Montagne Magique

Yamina is eight years old and does not like birthday parties. When her grandmother Zohra turns 70, her mother Fadila organizes a surprise birthday party for her.

But Grandma Zohra is not a party girl and the party turns into a fiasco. Yamina wonders why her grandmother doesn’t like parties, too. Together, they go on a journey through Zohra’s memories, looking for an answer. Memories of Algeria, the country of her birth, of trees full of olives, of the donkey Bakri and of her journey as grandmother Zohra to Belgium.

Distribution and credits
BY AND WITH Yamina Takkatz | DIRECTED BY Michai Geyzen | TEXT Yamina Takkatz, Michai Geyzen | PLAY Yamina Takkatz and Anna Saveniers (NL), Sanae Saidi-Leclere (FR) | COMPOSITION Han Stubbe | ANIMATION Yamina Takkatz | DRAMATURGY Ans Vroom | LYRICS Gunter Nagels | LIGHTING Jeroen Wutz | SCENOGRAPHY Ruby Renteurs | THANKS TO Khalid Koujili El Yakoubi, Céline Felga and Sarah Vermeyen | WITH THE SUPPORT OF Stad Antwerpen & De Studio
Biography
For ZEBARBAR, children must recognize themselves in their hero·ines. For what they do and think, regardless of their origin or skin color. The theater company directed by Yamina Takkatz makes musical theater and images for a young audience, with a focus on urban themes. Yamina Takkatz is in search of connections. She does this from her own background, while consciously investigating the universal in her own story. ZEBARBAR tackles a beautiful and sensitive theme: the secrets of grandparents and the special bond that binds grandchildren to them. In February 2021, an online version of the play was performed in libraries in Brussels and it was clear that this is a theme that touches all children. The conversations that followed were intense and lively. Many children with an immigrant background do indeed experience a break in their family history: grandparents who have left everything behind to build a new life in an unknown environment. Each family has its own fracture or trauma, and each family deals with it in its own way. De Studio works in collaboration with ZEBARBAR to tell new stories in a super-diverse society. The connecting power of storytelling and theater colors the palette of the imagination in the city.
Scroll To Top

Aller au contenu

Zohra’s Feestje

ZEBARBAR | De Studio

Théâtre

Vendredi 23 Sept | 10h30 | NL
Vendredi 23 Sept | 13h30 | FR
Samedi 24 Sept | 16h | FR

Durée : 45min

Lieu : Montagne Magique

Comédienne sur scène du spectacle Zohra's Feestje
Yamina a huit ans et n'aime pas les fêtes d'anniversaire. Lorsque sa grand-mère Zohra a 70 ans, sa mère Fadila lui organise un anniversaire surprise.

Mais grand-mère Zohra n’est pas du tout fêtarde et la fête tourne au fiasco. Yamina se demande pourquoi sa grand-mère n’aime pas les fêtes, elle aussi. Ensemble, elles partent en voyage dans les souvenirs de Zohra, à la recherche d’une réponse. Souvenirs de l’Algérie, son pays de naissance, des arbres pleins d’olives, de l’âne Bakri et de son voyage de grand-mère Zohra vers la Belgique.

Distribution et crédits
DE ET AVEC Yamina Takkatz | MISE EN SCÈNE Michai Geyzen | TEXTE Yamina Takkatz, Michai Geyzen | JEU Yamina Takkatz et Anna Saveniers (NL), Sanae Saidi-Leclere (FR) | COMPOSITION Han Stubbe | ANIMATION Yamina Takkatz | DRAMATURGIE Ans Vroom | PAROLES Gunter Nagels | LUMIÈRES Jeroen Wutz | SCÉNOGRAPHIE Ruby Renteurs | REMERCIEMENTS à Khalid Koujili El Yakoubi, Céline Felga et Sarah Vermeyen | AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE Stad Antwerpen & De Studio
Biographie
Pour ZEBARBAR, les enfants doivent se reconnaître dans leurs héro·ines. Pour ce qu’iels font et pensent, indépendamment de leur origine ou de leur couleur de peau. La compagnie de théâtre dirigée par Yamina Takkatz fait du théâtre musical imagé pour un jeune public, avec un accent sur des thèmes citadins. Yamina Takkatz est en recherche de connexions. Elle le fait à partir de son parcours, tout en investiguant consciemment l'universel dans sa propre histoire. ZEBARBAR aborde un thème beau et sensible : les secrets des grands-parents et le lien spécial qui lie les petits-enfants à ceux-ci. En février 2021, une version en ligne de la pièce a été jouée dans les bibliothèques de Bruxelles et il en est ressorti que c’est un thème qui touche tous les enfants. Les conversations qui en ont suivi étaient intenses et animées. De nombreux enfants issus de l'immigration connaissent effectivement une rupture dans leur histoire familiale : des grands-parents qui ont tout laissé derrière eux pour construire une nouvelle vie dans un environnement inconnu. Chaque famille a sa propre fracture ou ses traumatismes, et chacune y fait face à sa manière. De Studio travaille en collaboration avec ZEBARBAR pour raconter de nouvelles histoires dans une société super-diversifiée. Le pouvoir de connexion des histoires et du théâtre colore la palette de l'imagination dans la ville.
Faire défiler vers le haut